About this Course

Tech Type Essentials
Duration 19 Months

Programme duration 18 months

Our Network Engineer Level 4 Apprenticeship combines online learning, classroom training and on-the-job experience to develop real world skills using cutting edge technology. Whether you’re fresh out of an IT education or you’re already employed in the tech sector looking to take a step up, it’s a perfect fit for you.

This programme concentrates on network design, advanced connectivity and advanced security. This gives you the opportunity to develop and enhance your technical skills, ensuring you have the technical grounding needed to become a skilled Network Designer, Systems Engineer or Network Administrator.

What’s included?

On successful completion of the programme, you will gain the following qualifications

  • Network Engineer Level 4
  • BCS Level 4 Certificate in Network Principles
  • BCS Level 4 Certificate in Network Systems and Architecture
  • MTA Mobility and Device Fundamentals
  • MTA Cloud Fundamentals


The entry requirements for this programme are as follows:

  • A Levels in ICT/Computing
  • Or a Level 3 Apprenticeship in a similar subject
  • Or and International Baccalaureate at Level 3 in ICT
  • Or a BTEC Extended Diploma in IT (180 credits)
  • You must not hold an existing qualification at the same or higher level as this apprenticeship in a similar subject

What will you learn?

On this programme, you will learn technical skills including:

  • Navigating Windows servers
  • Administering and securing large complex networks
  • Working on complex setups
  • Identifying security threats and vulnerabilities

This will equip you with the skills essential to take on job roles such as Network Technician, Network Administrator and Third Line Helpdesk Support


During the programme you’ll be required to spend 20% of your time at work on off-the-job learning.

Our programme helps you easily fit your learning around your day job with access to our online learning platform – learning can be accessed anytime, anywhere and on any device so you get high-quality content on the go.

You will complete:

  1. Five knowledge modules teaching advanced theory and practical applications, through a combination of online learning and practical classroom workshops.
  2. A work-based portfolio showcasing how you’ve demonstrated the skills you’ve learnt in real work projects.
  3. A synoptic project where you will take a business and technical brief in order to build a finished product.
  4. An end-point assessment interview carried out by BCS – The Chartered Institute for IT – to assess whether you have successfully met the learning requirements of the programme.

The modules included in this programme are:

  • Module 1: Induction, and Network Principles
  • Module 2: Mobility and Cloud
  • Module 3: Network Systems and Architecture
  • Module 4: Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012
  • Module 5: Network Security

There is also the opportunity for an optional week, dedicated to revision and resits if you need it.

For more information download the handout

NOTE: this programme is available in England. If you are based in Scotland follow this link www.qa.com/QAAITNL68S (IT Systems and Networking SCQF 6 & 8)

To contact us for more information Apply now


19 Months

Delivery Method

Delivery method


Face-to-face learning in the comfort of our quality nationwide centres, with free refreshments and Wi-Fi.

Find dates and prices

Online booking is currently not available for this course, to find out more please call us on 0113 220 7150 or email us at info@qa.com to discuss how we can help.

Trusted, awarded and accredited

Fully accredited to ensure we provide the highest possible standards in learning

All third party trademark rights acknowledged.