About this Course

Tech Type Essentials
Duration 12 Months

Programme duration 12-18 months

Our Digital Applications Advanced Modern Apprenticeship combines classroom training and on-the-job experience to develop your core skills using digital applications – with the workplace becoming more and more digital, this is a great programme to equip you for roles in any sector.

This apprenticeship gives you a great opportunity to develop and enhance your digital skills to confidently use a range of digital applications in the workplace – whether it’s Microsoft Office, database systems, web systems or any other application.

It will help you in any role, in any sector where you use digital applications or bespoke IT systems – like website publishers, bespoke system specialists, or database administrators.

What’s included?

On successful completion of the programme, you will gain the following qualification:

  • SQA SCQF 6 Diploma in Digital Applications Support
  • SQA SCQF6 PC Passport


The entry requirements for this programme are as follows:

  • Age 16-24
  • 5 Standard grades (Level 1-3)
  • OR 5 National 5’s or intermediate 2’s level C or above (including Maths and English)

What will you learn?

You will learn to work with digital applications, gaining skills including:

  • Working with Microsoft Office applications
  • Understanding networking and applications support
  • Grasping graphic design and creation technologies
  • Understanding website front end management and content creation technologies

This will equip you with the skills essential to take on job roles such as IT Application Support, Database Development Administrator, Social Media Assistant and much more.


During our programme, you will complete:

  1. Six classroom training units introducing digital theory and fundamentals, through practical classroom workshops.
  2. Competency units completed in the workplace to provide a direct link between theory and practice.

The units covered are:

  • Unit 1: PC Passport
  • Unit 2: Office Systems User
  • Unit 3: Creative Business Skills
  • Unit 4: Creative Content Skills
  • Unit 5: Developing Personal and Team Effectiveness Using IT 3
  • Unit 6: Health and Safety in IT and Telecoms
  • Unit 7: Understanding the Potential of IT 3
  • Unit 8: Digital Information Management
  • Unit 9: Digital Communications
  • Unit 10: Digital Network Environments
  • Unit 11: Optimise IT System Performance 3

For more information download the handout

NOTE: this programme is only available in Scotland.

To contact us for more information Apply now


12 Months

Delivery Method

Delivery method


Face-to-face learning in the comfort of our quality nationwide centres, with free refreshments and Wi-Fi.

Find dates and prices

Online booking is currently not available for this course, to find out more please call us on 0113 220 7150 or email us at info@qa.com to discuss how we can help.

Trusted, awarded and accredited

Fully accredited to ensure we provide the highest possible standards in learning

All third party trademark rights acknowledged.