What is PRINCE2 7th edition?

PeopleCert/Axelos have released a new version of PRINCE2. This is referred to as PRINCE2 7th Edition and is replacing the 6th edition.

PRINCE2 7th Edition courses are now available. If you'd like to know more, please get in touch using the contact form.

What is changing in PRINCE2 7th edition?

The principles, themes, and processes of PRINCE2 have not changed. The length of QA’s PRINCE2 7th Edition courses will be different from the 6th edition: The Foundation course will now be delivered over 3 days, and the Practitioner level over 2 days. The below changes to the content will empower Project Managers to deliver success in a changed landscape, taking into account new challenges and trends:

People Management: At the heart of the 7th edition is the introduction of people management, including the importance of leading people and leading changes.

Sustainability and Data: New concepts like sustainability management and data management are also introduced.

Agility: What’s more, there is a renewed focus on tailoring to enable agility, beginning at the Foundation Level.

An introduction to PRINCE2

QA's Mark-Aston Smith and PeopleCert's Catherine Newman and John Edmonds give an introduction to PRINCE2 for those who may not have encountered it, and cover: 
- Why it is so highly valued 
- How it helps organisations deliver successful projects
- What's new in the 7th Edition

Which courses are affected?

This update will impact all PRINCE2 certifications

PRINCE2 Foundation, PRINCE2 Practitioner

How will this affect me?

I am currently not qualified in any version of PRINCE2

You should enrol on PRINCE2 7th edition Foundation, or Foundation & Practitioner courses 

I currently hold a PRINCE2 6th edition Foundation qualification

If you hold a Foundation qualification in PRINCE2 6th edition, whilst you can go straight to the 7th Edition of Practitioner, due to the change in terminologies, it is recommended that you continue your journey on version 6.

I currently hold a PRINCE2 6th edition Practitioner qualification and want to reregister

If you want to register for the 7th edition, it is recommended you start from the 7th edition Foundation level. Alternatively, you can register on the 6th edition Practitioner only course. 

How will the PRINCE2 exams change?

Foundation Level: 

There is no change to the format of the PRINCE2 Foundation level examination for the 7th edition. The pass mark has been increased from 55% to 60% (36 correct answers).

Practitioner level: 

The PRINCE2 7th edition Practitioner exam will have a total of 70 questions, instead of 68.  The pass mark is now 60%, instead of 55%. The duration remains 2.5 hours.  

The Practitioner exam will be based on one of four scenarios included in the new version of the manual. 

When will I be able to join a PRINCE2 7th edition course?

QA will be scheduling courses for the 7th edition beginning in September 2023. 

What are the prerequisites?

Foundation Level

  • None


Practitioner Level

  • PRINCE2® 6th Edition (Foundation or Practitioner)*
  • PRINCE2®7 Foundation
  • Project Management Qualification (PMQ)
  • Project Professional Qualification (PPQ)
  • Project Management Professional (PMP)®
  • Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)
  • IPMA Level A® (Certified Projects Director)
  • IPMA Level B® (Certified Senior Project Manager)
  • IPMA Level C® (Certified Project Manager)
  • IPMA Level D® (Certified Project Management Associate)

*Please note due to the extent of the changes between versions, PRINCE2® 5th Edition and all other previous versions will not be accepted as pre-requisites for PRINCE2®7 Practitioner.

Contact us

If you have any further questions about PRINCE2 7th edition, or you would like more information, fill in the form below and one of our specialists will be in touch. 

By submitting this form, you agree to QA processing your data in accordance with our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions. You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in our emails or contacting us directly.